About Us

The Port Everglades Association, Inc. was incorporated in 1979 with six founding members:
Claude Collins, Strachan Shipping
Jean Fitzgerald, Tracor Marine
Hans Hvide, Hvide Shipping
William Jackson, Port Everglades Pilots Association
Harry Santos, Harry Santos & Company
Carl Thorsen, Eller & Company
Together these founders sparked the idea of the port business community teaming up to advance the progress and development of Broward County's seaport.

Today the Port Everglades Association serves as a bridge between public and private interests to facilitate the Port's achievement of its rightful place in the first rank of America's ports of ocean commerce. Consisting of port cruise, cargo and petroleum tenants; contractors, vendors and other members of the Port Everglades business community, the Association conducts a monthly luncheon general membership meeting on the first Friday of each month with presentations by featured speakers on current port-related issues and events.

Pursuant to its mission, the Association has established standing committees
Membership & Fundraising
Port Security
PAC/Governmental Relations Committee
Association Governance
Annual Economic Engine Performance Report Luncheon
Annual Golf Classic

The Association Offices are located in the Port Everglades Administration Building, 1850 Eller Drive, Suite 405, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316; Telephone: 954-463-2801
Executive Director
Margaret Kempel
[email protected]
Deputy Director
Eileen Maloney-Simon

[email protected]

Business Development
Forest Grantham
[email protected]